top of page

NOTICE: Executive Board Election


Further to the report given on October 3, 2018, the Nominations & Elections Committee received the following nominations during the Executive Board nomination period of September 14 to 28, 2018:

Accordingly, an election by secret ballot for the positions of President and Odd-Year Trustee will commence at 8:00 a.m. on Friday, October 19, 2018 and conclude at 4:00 p.m. on Friday, November 2, 2018.

The successful candidates will be sworn-in at the Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, November 7, 2018.

All sworn-in members in good standing of ILWU Local 517 are eligible to vote in the election.

At head office, members may obtain and cast their ballot in the Engineering Department. Depending on the date and time of day, please see either Satnam Senghera (E10), Shane Pittman (E06) or Darcy Lesueur (E03).

For members unable to visit head office (e.g. at Maintenance, on the boats, at Canada Place Facility Operations or in Delta), arrangements have been made to have your ballots sent to your respective work sites. Please contact Steve Burtenshaw, Jeff Marshall or Sarah Pilgrim for additional information.

Ballots are being sent separately to Local 517 members of bargaining units at Fraser Surrey Docks, the Nanaimo Port Authority, the Port Alberni Port Authority, Squamish Terminals and Westshore Terminals. Please speak to your shop steward to obtain and cast your ballot.

Each of the candidates has prepared a one-page document; click on each of the images below to open.

Candidates for President:

Mandy Chan for President
Raymond Tsow for President

Candidates for Odd-Year Trustee:

Gary Olszewski for Odd-Year Trustee
Taleen Tchakedjian for Odd-Year Trustee

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page