Local 517 has a combination of Standing, Ad hoc, and Executive-appointed Committees.

Click the icon to download a PDF list of the Executive Board, Shop Stewards, and Committees.


Current Standing Committees


Communications - The Communications committee shares important information with the membership, develops and implements educational programs, promote the benefits of the Union, and increases transparency by providing updates on labour relations matters in a timely manner.

Members - Chris Clarke, Lisa Fox, Michelle Patterson, Taleen Tchakedjian*

Employee Family Assistance Program (EFAP) - The Employee and Family Assistance Program committee reviews the usage rate of the services provided by Morneau Shepell. Committee members promote the benefits of the Morneau Shepell program, encourage employees to use it when necessary, and answer related questions.

Members - Patrick Murphy,  Wally Oyama, Vinil Reddy

Grievance - The Grievance committee receives and vets grievances on behalf of the union and assists members in navigating the grievance processes outlined in Article 10 of the Collective Agreement.

Members - Kevin Ball, Kristina Basto, Ram Chungh, TJ Janz, Candace McLellan, Doug Mills, Vilius Uloza

Harassment - The Harassment committee makes employees aware of behaviours that may be considered discriminatory or harassing. Committee members help to ensure that employees are aware of the procedure for dealing with concerns and complaints.

Members - Wendy Clayford, Michael Macfarlane, Gerry Marino, Jennifer Tyler, Heather Watson

Job Evaluation - The Job Evaluation committee works with their management counterparts to rate positions in our organization in order to ensure fair compensation.

Members - Ram Chungh, Candace McLellan, Jennifer Nottigham, Gary Olszewski, Victoria Ostrzenski, Katherine Ramsay, Heather Watson, Vilius Uloza

Nominations & Elections - The Nominations and Elections committee facilitates any nominations and elections processes required at the local, regional, or international level for 517 members, and ensures that said processes are carried out in accordance with the governing constitution and bylaws.

Members - Jenny Bugayong (16k), Stephen Burtenshaw* (Maintenance), Kim Drinkwater (16K), Jeff Marshall (CP Ops), Gary Olszewski (16k), Satnam Senghera (16k)

Occupational Health & Safety (OH&S) Policy - The Occupational Health and Safety Policy committee develops the VFPA’s OH&S Policy in compliance with Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) regulations.

Members - Ken Berglund, Derek Birch*, Spencer Chaisson, James Hoffele, Nathan Smith, Emily Williamson

Safety - The Safety committee discusses, resolves, and ensures issues of health and safety in our work environment are in accordance with Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) regulations and pursuant to the VFPA’s OH&S Policy.

Members - Kevin Ball (Boat Crew), Ritch Haselhan (Maint), Ray Leung (16k), Gerry Marino* (21k), Vijay Rajan (CP Ops), Karen Rendek (16k), Andy Sekhon (21k), Satnam Senghera (16k), Vilius Uloza (16k)

Sunshine - The Sunshine committee brings “light” to members experiencing an unpleasant or tragic event such as sickness, injury, or loss of family member through cards or flower delivery when appropriate.

Members - Adam Bernstein, Betty Perverzov*

Current Ad hoc and Executive-appointed Committees

Constitution - The Constitution committee is composed on ad-hoc basis for the purpose of reviewing the Constitution for required updating and amendments.

Members - Tim Blair, Ken Berglund, Stephen Burtenshaw*, Chris Clarke, Gary Olszewski, Wally Oyama

Defined Benefit - The Defined Benefit committee meets with management approximately once per year to review the status of the VFPA Defined Benefit Pension Plan.

Members - Raymond Tsow

Defined Contribution - The Defined Contribution committee meets with management approximately once per year to review the status of the VFPA Defined Contribution Plan (Group RRSP).

Members - Gavin Beaudin-Ball, Katherine Ramsay

Employment Equity - The Employment Equity committee promotes, reviews, communicates, and advocates for the employment equity plan.

Members - Wendy Clayford, Darcy Lesueur, Jennifer Tyler

Joint - The Joint Union-Management Committee

Members - Wendy Clayford, Darcy Lesueur, Shane Pittman

Individual Incentive Program Dispute Resolution - The Incentive Bonus Program Dispute Resolution committee gathers feedback from the bargaining unit regarding the Individual Incentive Bonus Program, including any issues, disputes, disagreements and/or appeals relating to the Program.

Members - Noel Allison, Derek Birch, James Hoffele, Vinil Reddy

*Denotes Committee Chair or Co-chair.

ILWU Local 517 (C.L.C.)

PO Box 28164

RPO West Pender

Vancouver, BC CANADA

V6C 3T7